Disabled hunters access on the Colville National Forest

Hunting seasonroute’s outlinedCOLVILLE—The Colville National Forest, in partnership with Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, has outlined hunting season routes designated as Disabled Hunter Access.The 2014 disabled hunter access routes are Betty Creek in Ferry County (12.4 miles in length), Boundary Mountain in Ferry County (7.8 miles), Brewer Mountain in Stevens County (2.4 miles), Mitchell, Stevens County (7.8 miles), and Renshaw in Pend Oreille County (2.8 miles).The DHA program was established “to provide high quality hunting opportunities on the Colville National Forest for hunters with disabilities,” explained Franklin Pemberton of the Colville National Forest. The program allows motorized access into a gated road where hunters must walk in, Pemberton said. The overall project is a cooperative effort between the Colville National Forest, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, and the Inland Northwest Wildlife Council.The program does not provide special motorized access to all areas on the CNF, just to specially designed roads otherwise closed to motor vehicles.“DHA hunters and one of their two permitted assistants can harvest any game in season for which they have purchased licenses,” Pemberton pointed out. Permitted hunters can use the weapons allowed any local hunter for the season (like modern firearm, black powder and archery).To participate in the program, hunters with disabilities must have a state issued disabled hunters permit and must register and sign-in at any one of the six Colville National Forest offices prior to hunting.Registration and sign-in starts in early August at any of the following CNF offices: Colville National Forest Supervisor’s office, 765 S. Main St., Colville. Phone 684-7000. Office hours are from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.Three Rivers Ranger District office, 255 W. 11th St., Kettle Falls. Phone 738-7700. Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.Republic Ranger District office, 650 E. Delaware, Republic. Phone 775-7400. Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m.Newport office: 315 North Warren, Newport. Phone 447-7300. Office hours are 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.Sullivan Lake office: 12641 Sullivan Lake Road, Metaline Falls. Phone 446-7500. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.