Newspapers, journalists to be recognized


The Statesman-Examiner will receive several awards from the Washington Newspaper Publishers Assocation during gala banquet Friday.
Afton Corbett, Bonni Haskell, Shannon Chapman, Jaymi Allenbaugh, Katie Leithead, Mel Anderson and Jesse Mullen will receive awards for their staff work during the 2017-18 contest period.
Publisher Roger Harnack and political cartoonist Brad Skiff will receive awards for their work at other publications.
Republic resident Chris Thew will be presented an award, too. And Chewelah Independent’s Brandon Hansen and Geno Ludwig will also be recognized.